Kōrero: Southland region

Southland landforms

The settled part of Southland consists of alluvial basins or plains, partly separated by mountains and hills. Faulting has produced a marked north-west to south-east axis in the north, between Te Anau and Gore. To the west is Fiordland, a mountainous region that was heavily glaciated during the last ice age.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

David Grant, 'Southland region - Geology and landforms', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/20081/southland-landforms (accessed 17 May 2022)

He kōrero nā David Grant, updated 1 May 2015