Kōrero: Bay of Plenty region

Local government, 1876–1989

The earliest local authorities were created on the abolition of the provincial governments in 1876. More were formed in the early 20th century, when the region was growing fast. In the late 1980s the government reduced the number of territorial local authorities and altered the status of harbour, hospital and education boards.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Local Government Commission

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Bay of Plenty region - Government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/diagram/5646/local-government-1876-1989 (accessed 6 July 2022)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 Aug 2016