Kōrero: Oceanic fish

Tuna species

Tuna species

Albacore are one of the four tuna species commonly found in New Zealand waters, and belong to a group that spawns in the South Pacific. The other three species are southern bluefin, skipjack and yellowfin. Albacore are mostly seen and caught during summer months, when they are found all around New Zealand, mostly between 34°S and 44°S.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Seafood Industry Council

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Carl Walrond, 'Oceanic fish - Tuna', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/8758/tuna-species (accessed 24 September 2020)

He kōrero nā Carl Walrond, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006