Story: Oceanic fish

Tuna species

Tuna species

Albacore are one of the four tuna species commonly found in New Zealand waters, and belong to a group that spawns in the South Pacific. The other three species are southern bluefin, skipjack and yellowfin. Albacore are mostly seen and caught during summer months, when they are found all around New Zealand, mostly between 34°S and 44°S.

Using this item

New Zealand Seafood Industry Council

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Carl Walrond, 'Oceanic fish - Tuna', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 May 2022)

Story by Carl Walrond, published 12 Jun 2006