Kōrero: Volcanic Plateau region

Tribes on the Volcanic Plateau, around 1820

Tribes on the Volcanic Plateau, around 1820

Te Arawa and Ngāti Tūwharetoa occupied land around the Rotorua lakes and Taupō respectively. Both groups ventured further afield in the 1820s and 1830s, Te Arawa mostly to the north and east, Ngāti Tūwharetoa to the south and east. The route taken by the northern tribe Ngāpuhi when they attacked Te Arawa in 1823 is also shown.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Volcanic Plateau region - War and peace – the 19th century', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/15146/tribes-on-the-volcanic-plateau-around-1820 (accessed 14 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 May 2015