Story: Manawatū and Horowhenua region

Establishment of counties and boroughs, 1876–1917

Establishment of counties and boroughs, 1876–1917

The number of counties and boroughs in Manawatū increased with closer settlement in the 1880s and 1890s.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Manawatū and Horowhenua region - Government', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 13 April 2024)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 Apr 2015