Kōrero: Colonial and provincial government

Appointment of E. J. Eyre as lieutenant-governor of New Munster

Provinces were established under the 1846 constitution. There were just two – New Ulster, which took in most of the North Island, and New Munster, which included Wellington, the South Island and Stewart Island. Lieutenant-Colonel Edward John Eyre was appointed lieutenant-governor of New Munster in 1846. Eyre’s tenure in the position was not successful, as he and Governor George Grey did not get on. Under the 1852 constitution appointed lieutenant-governors were replaced by elected superintendents, who retained many of the responsibilities of lieutenant-governors.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Archives New Zealand - Te Rua Mahara o te Kāwanatanga
Reference: NM6 2 / 2

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - The crown colony, 1840 to 1852', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/35475/appointment-of-e-j-eyre-as-lieutenant-governor-of-new-munster (accessed 16 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 6 Oct 2023