Kōrero: Colonial and provincial government

New Zealand’s provinces, 1853–1876

In 1853 New Zealand was divided into six provinces: Auckland, New Plymouth (later Taranaki), Wellington, Nelson, Canterbury and Otago. They kept the revenue earned in their respective territories from the sale of Crown land. ‘Outlying’ districts wanted the same power and sought to separate – some, such as Marlborough (1859), succeeded. North Island provincial governments were disadvantaged because much of ‘their’ territory was not under their control but that of Māori.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - Colony and provinces, 1853 to 1863', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/35476/new-zealands-provinces-1853-1876 (accessed 14 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Malcolm McKinnon, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 6 Oct 2023