Story: Colonial and provincial government

Appointment of E. J. Eyre as lieutenant governor of New Munster

New Zealand’s first provinces were established under the 1846 constitution. There were just two – New Ulster, which took in most of the North Island, and New Munster, which included Wellington and the whole of the South Island. Lieutenant Colonel Edward John Eyre was appointed lieutenant governor of New Munster in 1846. Eyre’s tenure in the position was not successful as he and Governor George Grey did not get on. Under the 1852 constitution appointed lieutenant governors were replaced by elected superintendents, who retained many of the responsibilities of lieutenant governors.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Colonial and provincial government - The crown colony, 1840 to 1852', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 2 April 2023)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, published 20 Jun 2012