Kōrero: Cabinet government

Cabinet size: George Grey's cabinet, 1877 (1 o 4)

George Grey (centre), a former governor who was premier from 1877 to 1879, had a small cabinet of seven ministers. They are (clockwise from top right) John Sheehan (native minister), Robert Stout (attorney-general), John Macandrew (minister of public works), Hoani Nahe (native representative), James Fisher (commissioner of telegraphs), George Whitmore (colonial secretary) and John Ballance (colonial treasurer).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: A-051-009
Lithograph by Charles Palmer

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Eichbaum, 'Cabinet government - What is cabinet?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/34343/cabinet-size-george-greys-cabinet-1877 (accessed 7 June 2023)

He kōrero nā Chris Eichbaum, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012