Story: Cabinet government

Cabinet size: George Grey's cabinet, 1877 (1st of 4)

George Grey (centre), a former governor who was premier from 1877 to 1879, had a small cabinet of seven ministers. They are (clockwise from top right) John Sheehan (native minister), Robert Stout (attorney-general), John Macandrew (minister of public works), Hoani Nahe (native representative), James Fisher (commissioner of telegraphs), George Whitmore (colonial secretary) and John Ballance (colonial treasurer).

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: A-051-009
Lithograph by Charles Palmer

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Chris Eichbaum, 'Cabinet government - What is cabinet?', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 April 2024)

Story by Chris Eichbaum, published 20 Jun 2012