Kōrero: Awards and prizes

Poets laureate and their tokotoko, 2008

Poets laureate and their tokotoko, 2008

Five of New Zealand's poets laureate are seen in 2008 with the tokotoko specially made for each of them by Jacob Scott. From left are Elizabeth Smither (2001–3); Michele Leggott (2007–9); Jenny Bornholdt (2005–7);  Brian Turner (2003–5), with a tokotoko made from a hockey stick to acknowledge that he represented New Zealand in the sport; and inaugural poet laureate Bill Manhire (1997–99). The other laureates have been Hone Tuwhare (1999–2001), Cilla McQueen (2009–11), Ian Wedde (2011–13), Vincent O'Sullivan (2013–15), Selina Tusitala Marsh (2017–19), and David Eggleton (2019–21).

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Fairfax NZ, Dominion Post

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder by contacting [email protected]

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - Awards and their origins', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/44675/poets-laureate-and-their-tokotoko-2008 (accessed 24 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Mark Derby, i tāngia i te 22 Oct 2014, updated 1 Apr 2020