Story: Awards and prizes

Poets laureate and their tokotoko, 2008

Poets laureate and their tokotoko, 2008

Five of New Zealand's poets laureate are seen in 2008 with the tokotoko specially made for each of them by Jacob Scott. From left are Elizabeth Smither (2001–3); Michele Leggott (2007–9); Jenny Bornholdt (2005–7);  Brian Turner (2003–5), with a tokotoko made from a hockey stick, reflecting his earlier status as a New Zealand hockey international; and inaugural poet laureate Bill Manhire (1997–99). Other laureates included Hone Tuwhare (1999–2001), Cilla McQueen (2009–11), Ian Wedde (2011–13) and Vincent O'Sullivan (2013–15).

Using this item

Fairfax NZ, Dominion Post

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder by contacting

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Mark Derby, 'Awards and prizes - Awards and their origins', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 18 October 2019)

Story by Mark Derby, published 22 Oct 2014, updated 9 Aug 2016