Kōrero: Protected areas

Te Wāhipounamu – South West New Zealand

Te Wāhipounamu – South West New Zealand

Te Wāhipounamu – South West New Zealand is an area of 2.6 million hectares in the south-west South Island, which was listed as a world heritage site in 1990. World heritage sites are designated by UNESCO under the World Heritage Convention. This map shows the area’s boundaries. It includes Westland Tai Poutini, Aoraki/Mt Cook, Fiordland and Mt Aspiring national parks.

Using this item

Department of Conservation
Reference: 10058158

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

Me pēnei te tohu i te whārangi:

Les Molloy, 'Protected areas - Internationally recognised areas', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/13887/te-wahipounamu-south-west-new-zealand (accessed 20 August 2019)

Story by Les Molloy, published 24 Sep 2007, updated 1 Sep 2015