Kōrero: Chatham Islands

Chatham Islands (1 o 3)

Chatham Islands

The Chatham Islands consist of one main island – Chatham Island, also known as Rēkohu or Wharekauri – which has an area of 920 square kilometres; and one smaller island – Pitt Island, also called Rangihaute or Rangiāuria – with an area of 62 square kilometres and numerous islets. The main island is just over half the size of Stewart Island, New Zealand’s third-largest island.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Rhys Richards, 'Chatham Islands - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map/37775/chatham-islands (accessed 21 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Rhys Richards, updated 1 May 2015