Story: Chatham Islands

Chatham Islands (1st of 3)

Chatham Islands

The Chatham Islands consist of one main island – Chatham Island, also known as Rēkohu or Wharekauri – which has an area of 920 square kilometres; and one smaller island – Pitt Island, also called Rangihaute or Rangiāuria – with an area of 7.7 square kilometres and numerous islets. The main island is just over half the size of Stewart Island, New Zealand’s third-largest island.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Rhys Richards, 'Chatham Islands - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 May 2023)

Story by Rhys Richards, updated 1 May 2015