Kōrero: Marine conservation

New Zealand marine reserves (1 o 3)

New Zealand’s first marine reserve was established north of Auckland at Cape Rodney–Ōkakari Point (near Leigh) in 1975. Only a few other reserves appeared in the next decade, but the 1990s showed real growth, with 14 protected areas set up. By the 2000s the government aimed to have 10% of New Zealand’s Exclusive Economic Zone under some form of protection. In 2014 there were 44 marine reserves, two marine parks, three marine protected areas and six marine mammal sanctuaries.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Gerard Hutching and Carl Walrond, 'Marine conservation - Protected areas', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/map-interactive/5842/new-zealand-marine-reserves (accessed 2 October 2022)

He kōrero nā Gerard Hutching and Carl Walrond, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, updated 1 Sep 2015