Story: Marine conservation

New Zealand marine reserves (1st of 3)

New Zealand’s first marine reserve was established north of Auckland at Cape Rodney–Ōkakari Point (near Leigh) in 1975. Only a few other reserves appeared in the next decade, but the 1990s showed real growth, with 14 protected areas set up. By the 2000s the government aimed to have 10% of New Zealand’s Exclusive Economic Zone under some form of protection. In 2014 there were 44 marine reserves, two marine parks, three marine protected areas and six marine mammal sanctuaries.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Gerard Hutching and Carl Walrond, 'Marine conservation - Protected areas', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 January 2023)

Story by Gerard Hutching and Carl Walrond, published 12 Jun 2006, updated 1 Sep 2015