Kōrero: Historic earthquakes

Extent of shaking, Wairarapa earthquake, 24 June 1942 (1 o 2)

The Modified Mercalli scale (from 1 to 12) measures earthquakes by the intensity of shaking observed. Reports from historical records and diaries were used to compile this map, which shows the extent of shaking from the Wairarapa earthquake of 1942. From an intensity of 8 at the epicentre near Masterton, the isoseismal lines spread outwards. Shaking was felt as far afield as Auckland in the north and Dunedin in the south.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: G. L. Downes, Atlas of isoseismal maps of New Zealand earthquakes. Lower Hutt: Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences, 1995.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Eileen McSaveney, 'Historic earthquakes - The 1942 Wairarapa earthquakes', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/4510/extent-of-shaking-wairarapa-earthquake-24-june-1942 (accessed 26 February 2024)

He kōrero nā Eileen McSaveney, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2011, updated 1 Nov 2017