Story: Historic earthquakes

Extent of shaking, Wairarapa earthquake, 24 June 1942 (1st of 2)

The Modified Mercalli scale (from 1 to 12) measures earthquakes by the intensity of shaking observed. Reports from historical records and diaries were used to compile this map, which shows the extent of shaking from the Wairarapa earthquake of 1942. From an intensity of 8 at the epicentre near Masterton, the isoseismal lines spread outwards. Shaking was felt as far afield as Auckland in the north and Dunedin in the south.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: G. L. Downes, Atlas of isoseismal maps of New Zealand earthquakes. Lower Hutt: Institute of Geological and Nuclear Sciences, 1995.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Eileen McSaveney, 'Historic earthquakes - The 1942 Wairarapa earthquakes', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 25 June 2024)

Story by Eileen McSaveney, published 12 Jun 2006, reviewed & revised 28 Mar 2011, updated 1 Nov 2017