Kōrero: Whanganui region

Whanganui region

The Whanganui region lies between Mt Ruapehu and the sea. Much of it is hill country. Rivers, notably the Whanganui, the Waitōtara, the Whangaehu, the Turakina and Rangitīkei, have carved courses through the hills. Whanganui city lies at the mouth of the Whanganui River – the other towns are Ohakune, Raetihi, Taihape, Marton and Waverley.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Diana Beaglehole, 'Whanganui region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/interactive/18997/whanganui-region (accessed 24 May 2022)

He kōrero nā Diana Beaglehole, updated 1 Jun 2015