Story: Whanganui region

Whanganui region

The Whanganui region lies between Mt Ruapehu and the sea. Much of it is hill country. Rivers, notably the Whanganui, the Waitōtara, the Whangaehu, the Turakina and Rangitīkei, have carved courses through the hills. Whanganui city lies at the mouth of the Whanganui River – the other towns are Ohakune, Raetihi, Taihape, Marton and Waverley.

Using this item

Te Ara - The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Diana Beaglehole, 'Whanganui region - Overview', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 24 July 2024)

Story by Diana Beaglehole, updated 1 Jun 2015