Story: Manawatū and Horowhenua region

Farewell to W. H. Levin

Farewell to W. H. Levin.

The settlement of Levin, on the Manawatū railway line, was named after W. H. Levin, one of the directors of the railway company. He retired when the line was completed. This illuminated farewell address is signed by chair T. G. McCarthy, and fellow directors John Plimmer, James Smith, Charles Izard and Joseph Nathan.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: PA1-f-239-01

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Malcolm McKinnon, 'Manawatū and Horowhenua region - Unsettled times: 1880–1910', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 23 April 2024)

Story by Malcolm McKinnon, updated 1 Apr 2015