Skip to main content
Browse the 1966 Encyclopaedia of New Zealand
Graphic: An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand 1966.


This information was published in 1966 in An Encyclopaedia of New Zealand, edited by A. H. McLintock. It has not been corrected and will not be updated.

Up-to-date information can be found elsewhere in Te Ara.




Cumming, Robert Scott

(1927– ).

District Officer, Tanganyika.

Robert Cumming was born in India in 1927. He was educated at Christ's College, Christchurch, and Canterbury University College. He joined the Tanganyika Government Service in 1950 and served there as a District Officer from 1952 to 1961.

Glasgow, John Philip

(1913– ).

Chief Entomologist, East Africa Tsetse and Trypanosomiasis Research and Reclamation Organisation.

John Glasgow was born at Nelson, New Zealand, on 30 January 1913. He was educated at Nelson College and graduated from Canterbury University College. He continued his studies at the Royal College of Science, University of London, and in 1938 was appointed to the Department of Tsetse Research in Tanganyika. After military service from 1940 to 1944 he returned to this work and in 1948 was appointed Research Officer to the East African Tsetse and Trypanosomiasis Research and Reclamation Organisation. He became their Chief Entomologist from 1956 to 1961.

Harverson, Walter Douglas, O.B.E.

(1903– ).

Commissioner of Mines.

Walter Harverson was born at Wellington, New Zealand, on 13 August 1903. He was educated at Wellington College before proceeding to Bedford Moderm and the Royal School of Mines (Imperial College). In 1934 he was engaged as a temporary assistant geologist in Kenya. Two years later he became a Government mining engineer. He returned to Kenya after war service, 1939–43, and in 1946 was appointed Assistant Commissioner of Mines. From 1958 until 1962 he was Commissioner of Mines in Tanganyika. In 1958 he was awarded the O.B.E.

Helean, William Brindley

(1917– ).

Administrative Officer.

William Helean was born at Wellington, New Zealand, on 16 August 1917 and was educated at Otago Boys' High School and at Victoria University College. From 1939 to 1945 he saw military service and was mentioned in dispatches. He was appointed to a cadetship in the Colonial Service in Tanganyika in 1948, became a District Officer in 1950, and Senior District Officer in 1958. Since 1961 he has been an Administrative Officer and on the grant of independence in 1962, he was transferred to the Vice-President's office.

Humphries, Philip James, O.B.E.

(1921– ).

Administrative Secretary (Judicial).

Philip Humphries was born in 1921 and educated at Christ's College and Canterbury University College. He served in the Second World War from 1940 to 1946. In 1947 he was posted to Tanganyika as a cadet and two years later became District Officer. Since 1961 he has been an Administrative Officer. He was awarded the O.B.E. in 1961. In 1962, on the achievement of independence, he became Administrative Secretary (Judicial).

Otto, Albert Ewen

(1911– ).

Senior Resident Magistrate.

Albert Otto was born at Devonport, Auckland, New Zealand, on 14 February 1911. He was educated at Hamilton Technical College and at Auckland University College, where he obtained his LL.B. in 1940. He joined the Colonial Legal Service in 1947 as Assistant Registrar-General in Tanganyika, and in 1954 was appointed Resident Magistrate. Since 1960 he has been a Senior Resident Magistrate.

Palmer, Allen George

(1914– )

Inspector of Mines.

Allen Palmer was born at Dunedin, New Zealand, on 12 June 1914 and was educated at Otago. Boys' High School and the University of Otago. From 1944 to 1946 he served in the armed forces. From 1947 until 1962 he was an Inspector of Mines in Tanganyika.

Pogson, Trevor Reid

(1922– ).

District Officer.

Trevor Pogson was born at Linwood, Christchurch, New Zealand, on 7 May 1922. He was educated at Christ's College, Christchurch, New Zealand, and at Magdalen College, Oxford. From 1942 to 1944 he served with the armed forces and in 1946 became a cadet in the Colonial Service in Tanganyika. Since 1948 he has been a District Officer. He is the author of the Origin and History of Maces, published in 1954.

Quennell, Albert Mathison

(1906– ).

Former Director of the Geological Survey.

Albert Quennell was born at Dunedin, New Zealand, on 27 November 1906. He was educated at Otago Boys' High School, the University of Otago, and Victoria University College. Since 1948 he has worked in Tanganyika as a Senior Geologist. In 1952 he became Assistant Director of the Geological Survey, and Deputy Director two years later. From 1957 to 1960 he was Director. He has published Geology and Minerology of Trans-Jordan, The Lupa Goldfield, Tectonics of the Dead Sea Rift, The Bukoban System of East Africa.

Ward, Ivan Lee, C.B.E.

(1906– ).

Commissioner of Water Development.

Ivan Ward was born at Piripiri, near Dannevirke, New Zealand, on 30 October 1906. He was educated at Seddon Memorial Technical College, Auckland, and at Canterbury University College. In 1944 he was appointed Chief Irrigation Officer in Palestine and four years later he became Water Engineer in Cyprus. He became Director of Water Development in 1954 and transferred to Tanganyika in 1959. Ivan Ward was created C.B.E. in 1959. He also holds the Order of Rafidain from Irak.

Wiggins, Right Rev. Maxwell Lester

(1915– ).

Assistant Bishop of Central Tanganyika.

Maxwell Wiggins was born at Sumner, Christchurch, on 5 February 1915 and educated at College House and Canterbury University College. He was ordained in 1939, acted as Curate of Merivale (1938–41), and was Vicar of Oxford (1941–44). In 1945 he joined the overseas missions in Tanganyika, becoming Dean of Dodoma (1949–53), Canon of Central Tanganyika (1953–57), and Archdeacon of South Victoria Nyanza (1957–59). On 11 June 1959 he was consecrated Assistant Bishop of Central Tanganyika and Bishop of Omari and Ohang.

In addition to these, there are a number of New Zealanders working for the Tanganyika Government, particularly in its Legal Service, while Dr Ken Dalley (Otago) is one of eight “jungle doctors” with the Church Missionary Society there.

Next Part: TONGA