Kōrero: Anniversaries

Centennial stamps

Thirteen stamps were issued for New Zealand's centennial by the New Zealand Post Office. They were (from top, then left to right): one shilling – the giant kauri Tāne Mahuta; halfpenny – landing of Māori in New Zealand; one penny – Captain James Cook, his map and the Endeavour; one and a half pence – British sovereigns of New Zealand; twopence – Abel Tasman, the Heemskerck and his map; two and a half pence – the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi; threepence – settlers landing at Petone Beach in 1840; fourpence – land, sea and air transport; fivepence – hoisting of the Union Jack at Akaroa; sixpence – the Dunedin's shipment of frozen mutton; sevenpence – the Māori Council; eightpence – the Māori Council, reissued in March 1940 when postal rates were changed; ninepence – gold mining. L. C. Mitchell designed the halfpenny, threepence and fourpence stamps, and James Berry designed the remainder.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Post
Reference: 1940 Centennial stamp issue

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jock Phillips, 'Anniversaries - New Zealand’s centennial, 1940', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/43023/centennial-stamps (accessed 25 January 2022)

He kōrero nā Jock Phillips, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012