Story: Anniversaries

Centennial stamps

Thirteen stamps were issued for New Zealand's centennial by the New Zealand Post Office. They were (from top, then left to right): one shilling – the giant kauri Tāne Mahuta; halfpenny – landing of Māori in New Zealand; one penny – James Cook, his map and the Endeavour; one and a half pence – British sovereigns of New Zealand; twopence – Abel Tasman, the Heemskerck and his map; two and a half pence – the signing of the Treaty of Waitangi; threepence – settlers landing at Petone Beach in 1840; fourpence – land, sea and air transport; fivepence – hoisting of the Union Jack at Akaroa; sixpence – the Dunedin's shipment of frozen mutton; sevenpence – a Māori council; eightpence – a Māori council, reissued in March 1940 when postal rates were changed; ninepence – gold mining. L. C. Mitchell designed the halfpenny, threepence and fourpence stamps, and James Berry designed the remainder.

Using this item

New Zealand Post
Reference: 1940 Centennial stamp issue

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jock Phillips, 'Anniversaries - New Zealand’s centennial, 1940', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 21 July 2024)

Story by Jock Phillips, published 20 Jun 2012