Kōrero: Royal honours system

Order of New Zealand members, 2011

Ordinary membership of the Order of New Zealand, New Zealand’s highest honour, is limited to 20 living people. Many of them are shown here at the order’s biennial dinner at Government House in Wellington, in 2011, hosted by the governor-general and his wife. They are (back row from left): Rebecca Kitteridge (secretary and registrar of the Order of New Zealand), Sir Don McKinnon, Sir Owen Woodhouse, Sir Brian Lochore, Ken Douglas, Emeritus Professor Sir Lloyd Geering, Emeritus Professor C. K. Stead, Emeritus Professor Sir Kenneth Keith, Sir Bob Charles; (front row from left): His Eminence Cardinal Tom Williams, the Right Honourable Jim Bolger, Lady Susan Satyanand, Governor-General the Right Honourable Sir Anand Satyanand, Lady June Blundell, Honourable Dame Catherine Tizard, Dame Miriam Dell and the Right Honourable Jonathan Hunt. Members of the order in 2011 absent from the photograph were: Margaret Mahy, Dame Kiri Te Kanawa, Sir (Frederick) Miles Warren, Dr Clifford Whiting, the Right Honourable Michael Moore, Sir Murray Halberg and the Right Honourable Helen Clark.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

The Governor-General of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Mandy Wong, 'Royal honours system - The Order of New Zealand and New Zealand Order of Merit', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/35643/order-of-new-zealand-members-2011 (accessed 24 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Mandy Wong, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012