Kōrero: Political parties

Politics without parties, 1884–1887

These portraits are of members of the New Zealand Parliament during the 1884–1887 term. At this time MPs had not yet gathered into parties. A governing group would form around the premier. George Grey (second row from top, fifth from left), Richard Seddon (third row, fourth from left), Robert Stout (third row, seventh from left), Julius Vogel (third row, eighth from left) and Harry Atkinson (sixth row, seventh from left) had all been or would become premier.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, S. P. Andrew Collection (PAColl-3739)
Reference: 1/1-018644-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jennifer Curtin and Raymond Miller, 'Political parties - The party system develops, 1891 to 1935', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/34292/politics-without-parties-1884-1887 (accessed 22 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Jennifer Curtin and Raymond Miller, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 21 Jul 2015