Story: Political parties

Politics without parties, 1884–1887

These portraits are of members of the New Zealand Parliament during the 1884–1887 term. At this time MPs had not yet gathered into parties. A governing group would form around the premier. George Grey (second row from top, fifth from left), Richard Seddon (third row, fourth from left), Robert Stout (third row, seventh from left), Julius Vogel (third row, eighth from left) and Harry Atkinson (sixth row, seventh from left) had all been or would become premier.

Using this item

Alexander Turnbull Library, S. P. Andrew Collection (PAColl-3739)
Reference: 1/1-018644-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Jennifer Curtin and Raymond Miller, 'Political parties - The party system develops, 1891 to 1935', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 May 2022)

Story by Jennifer Curtin and Raymond Miller, published 20 Jun 2012, reviewed & revised 21 Jul 2015