Kōrero: Land ownership

North Island lands purchased for settlement

This map shows in red the 78 North Island properties purchased between 1896 and 1912 under the Land for Settlement Act 1894, and subsequently broken up into smaller farms. Most of the properties were on the pastoral east coasts of Wairarapa, Hawke’s Bay and Gisborne. Many were clustered in the east of the Waikato. The properties in purple were Crown lands available for settlement.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: MapColl 830gbbd/1911-12/Acc.51763

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jim McAloon, 'Land ownership - The Liberals and land policy', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/zoomify/17934/north-island-lands-purchased-for-settlement (accessed 8 July 2022)

He kōrero nā Jim McAloon, i tāngia i te 24 Nov 2008