Kōrero: Sport and the nation

Sports award winners

This table shows the winners of what was originally called the New Zealand Sportsman of the Year Awards, became the Halberg Sportsman of the Year Awards in 1980, and in 1992 was renamed the Halberg Supreme Awards. The awards provide an indication of the sportsperson or team that captured the attention of the New Zealand public in that year. What is noteworthy is the increasing recognition of women's achievement. In the first decade women won the award on three occasions, including Yvette Williams winning twice. In the 1960s and 1970s women never received the award. It was won by women three times in the 1980s, four times in the 1990s, and seven times out of 10 in the 2000s (Valerie Adams on three occasions). It is also interesting that, while rugby and cricket (the two major men's sports) took the award five times in the first 20 years, they won it on only two occasions (the All Blacks in 2011 and 2015) in the 20 years after 1992.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Jock Phillips, 'Sport and the nation - Strong men and women, 1945 to 1970', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/table/41208/sports-award-winners (accessed 28 November 2021)

He kōrero nā Jock Phillips, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013