Kōrero: Olympic and Commonwealth games

New Zealand's Olympic medals (3 o 3)

This table shows New Zealand’s Olympic medals from the 1908 London Olympics to the 2018 Winter Olympics in PyeongChang. The first medal was the bronze won in 1908 by walker Harry Kerr, a member of an Australasian team that won one gold, two silver and three bronze medals. Swimmer Malcolm Champion won the gold in 1912 in a relay team with three Australians. (Australasia won two gold, two silver and three bronze medals that year.) The 1984 Los Angeles Olympics remains New Zealand’s most successful, with eight gold medals. The 1988 Seoul (13 medals), 2012 London (13 medals) and 2016 Rio Olympics (18 medals) are those with the highest medal tallies. Six gold medals were won at London. New Zealand won no medals at London (1948) or Moscow (1980), and has won Winter Olympics medals only at Albertville (1992) and PyeongChang.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Joseph Romanos, Our Olympic century. Wellington: Trio Books, 2008

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Joseph Romanos, 'Olympic and Commonwealth games - The early 21st century at the Olympics', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/table/39245/new-zealands-olympic-medals (accessed 16 October 2021)

He kōrero nā Joseph Romanos, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, reviewed & revised 16 Sep 2016