Story: Olympic and Commonwealth games

New Zealand's Olympic medals (3rd of 3)

This table shows New Zealand’s Olympic medals from the 1908 London Olympics to the 2022 Winter Olympics in Beijing. The first medal was the bronze won in 1908 by walker Harry Kerr, a member of an Australasian team that won one gold, two silver and three bronze medals. Swimmer Malcolm Champion won the gold in 1912 in a relay team with three Australians. (Australasia won two gold, two silver and three bronze medals that year.) The 1984 Los Angeles Olympics remains New Zealand’s most successful, with eight gold medals. The 1988 Seoul (13 medals), 2012 London (13 medals), 2016 Rio (18 medals) and 2020 Tokyo Olympics (20 medals) are those with the highest medal tallies. Six gold medals were won in London and seven in Tokyo. New Zealand won no medals at London (1948) or Moscow (1980), and has won Winter Olympics medals only at Albertville (1992), PyeongChang (2018) and Beijing.

Using this item

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Source: Joseph Romanos, Our Olympic century. Wellington: Trio Books, 2008

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Joseph Romanos, 'Olympic and Commonwealth games - The early 21st century at the Olympics', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 April 2024)

Story by Joseph Romanos, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jun 2023