Kōrero: Overseas trade policy

Trade rounds

From 1947 until 1995, when the World Trade Organization was established, there were eight rounds of trade talks called ‘GATT rounds’. GATT stands for General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade. Talks, which are now called ‘trade rounds’, focused on reducing tariffs (taxes on imports) and other trade barriers. Rounds of talks were named after the place where the talks first started or people (such as the Kennedy round, which began in 1964, named after assassinated US president John F. Kennedy). The ninth round started in Doha, Qatar, in 2001.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Chris Nixon and John Yeabsley, 'Overseas trade policy - The post-war economy', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/table/21978/trade-rounds (accessed 3 July 2022)

He kōrero nā Chris Nixon and John Yeabsley, i tāngia i te 11 Mar 2010