Kōrero: Geology – overview

Tongariro volcanoes

Tongariro volcanoes

The three southernmost volcanoes in the Taupō volcanic zone can be seen in this photograph – Tongariro (foreground and flat summit on left), Ngāuruhoe (centre) and Ruapehu (right). Striking features of this landscape are two active faults (running obliquely across the foreground), which indicate the close association between volcanic activity and tectonic deformation.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

GNS Science
Reference: CN5322/11
Photograph by Lloyd Homer

Permission of GNS Science must be obtained before any use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Eileen McSaveney and Simon Nathan, 'Geology – overview - Quaternary volcanism', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/8400/tongariro-volcanoes (accessed 17 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Eileen McSaveney and Simon Nathan, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006