Story: Geology – overview

Tongariro volcanoes

Tongariro volcanoes

The three southernmost volcanoes in the Taupō volcanic zone can be seen in this photograph – Tongariro (foreground and flat summit on left), Ngāuruhoe (centre) and Ruapehu (right). Striking features of this landscape are two active faults (running obliquely across the foreground), which indicate the close association between volcanic activity and tectonic deformation.

Using this item

GNS Science
Reference: CN5322/11
Photograph by Lloyd Homer

Permission of GNS Science must be obtained before any use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Eileen McSaveney and Simon Nathan, 'Geology – overview - Quaternary volcanism', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 29 May 2022)

Story by Eileen McSaveney and Simon Nathan, published 12 Jun 2006