Kōrero: Sailing and windsurfing

International racing

International racing

Sydney and Auckland 18-footers compete in February 1939 in what was unofficially elevated to a ‘world championship’. There was intense public interest and huge crowds after the Arch Logan-designed Manu II won the first race. The Australian St George was controversially disqualified in the last race, giving the overall victory to Manu II. The outraged Australians returned home without handing over the J. J. Giltinan trophy, which they kept until 1946.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, Making New Zealand Centennial Collection (PAColl-3060)
Reference: 2313-MNZ
Photograph by Stewart and White (Auckland)

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Harold Kidd, 'Sailing and windsurfing - Rapid growth: 1918 to 1940', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/7138/international-racing (accessed 23 June 2024)

He kōrero nā Harold Kidd, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, updated 1 Jun 2016