Kōrero: Sailing and windsurfing

The Sanders Cup (2 o 2)

The Sanders Cup

The Sanders Cup is one of yachting’s major annual competitions. The trophy was originally donated in 1921, as a challenge to Lord Jellicoe. In 2001 the competition was sailed at Wellington’s Heretaunga Boating Club, and won by Matthew Smith (holding the cup) and Phil McNeill (right, with son Jamie). Representing Northland, they had won the cup together three times. Hugh Poole (left) was a five-time winner.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Private collection
Photograph by Martin Eathorne

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Harold Kidd, 'Sailing and windsurfing - Rapid growth: 1918 to 1940', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/7135/the-sanders-cup (accessed 14 July 2024)

He kōrero nā Harold Kidd, i tāngia i te 12 Jun 2006, updated 1 Jun 2016