Story: Sailing and windsurfing

The Sanders Cup (2nd of 2)

The Sanders Cup

The Sanders Cup is one of yachting’s major annual competitions. The trophy was originally donated in 1921, as a challenge to Lord Jellicoe. In 2001 the competition was sailed at Wellington’s Heretaunga Boating Club, and won by Matthew Smith (holding the cup) and Phil McNeill (right, with son Jamie). Representing Northland, they had won the cup together three times. Hugh Poole (left) was a five-time winner.

Using this item

Private collection
Photograph by Martin Eathorne

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Harold Kidd, 'Sailing and windsurfing - Rapid growth: 1918 to 1940', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 19 May 2022)

Story by Harold Kidd, published 12 Jun 2006, updated 1 Jun 2016