Kōrero: Parliament

Pacific MPs

Pacific MPs

The ethnic diversity of the New Zealand Parliament increased significantly following the 2020 election. At this Beehive ceremony, which was a combination of the Cook Islands Turou and Samoan 'Ava, the new MPs of Pacific descent were welcomed. Re-elected MPs (standing) welcomed those who had just entered Parliament (seated). The five new MPs were (left to right) Terisa Ngobi (Labour), Barbara Edmonds (Labour), Tangi Utikere (Labour), Dr Anae Neru Leavasa (Labour), and Teanau Tuiono (Green). Other MPs newly elected in 2020 included Dr Ayesha Verrall from the Maldives, Vanushi Walters, New Zealand’s first Sri Lankan MP, Naisi Chen from China, Ibrahim Omer from Eritrea, Ricardo Menéndez March from Mexico and Dr Gaurav Sharma from India​.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Labour Party

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John E. Martin, 'Parliament - Impact of MMP', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/47395/pacific-mps (accessed 8 December 2022)

He kōrero nā John E. Martin, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015