Kōrero: Parliament

Ethnic diversity of MPs

MMP has improved ethnic diversity in Parliament.  After the final first-past-the-post election in 1993, only eight MPs identified as Maori; in 2020 there were 25. Before MMP there had never been an Asian MP and only one from the Pacific. In 2020, people of Chinese, Cook Islands Māori, Eritrean, Indian, Iranian, Korean, Maldivian, Mexican, Samoan, Sri Lankan, and Tongan descent were elected.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Te Ara – The Encyclopedia of New Zealand

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Sources: Statistics New Zealand and New Zealand Parliament

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

John E. Martin, 'Parliament - Impact of MMP', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/graph/47382/ethnic-diversity-of-mps (accessed 25 September 2022)

He kōrero nā John E. Martin, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Feb 2015