Kōrero: Cycle racing

Club road race, 1887

Club road race, 1887

In 1879 Christchurch cycling enthusiasts formed the Pioneer Bicycle Club to foster South Island bicycle racing. These are the nine starters for the 50-mile road race, from Christchurch to Leeston and back, in September 1887. It was won by R. Bargrove (not identified in the photo) in three hours 35 minutes. He beat the existing record by eight minutes.  

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Canterbury Museum, Benjamin Button Collection
Reference: 1990.150.1
Photograph by Standish and Preece

Permission of Canterbury Museum, Rolleston Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Simon Kennett, 'Cycle racing - Early cycle racing', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/40234/club-road-race-1887 (accessed 27 February 2020)

He kōrero nā Simon Kennett, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Oct 2015