Story: Cycle racing

Club road race, 1887

Club road race, 1887

In 1879 Christchurch cycling enthusiasts formed the Pioneer Bicycle Club to foster South Island bicycle racing. These are the nine starters for the 50-mile road race, from Christchurch to Leeston and back, in September 1887. It was won by R. Bargrove (not identified in the photo) in three hours 35 minutes. He beat the existing record by eight minutes.  

Using this item

Canterbury Museum, Benjamin Button Collection
Reference: 1990.150.1
Photograph by Standish and Preece

Permission of Canterbury Museum, Rolleston Avenue, Christchurch, New Zealand must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Simon Kennett, 'Cycle racing - Early cycle racing', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 4 December 2021)

Story by Simon Kennett, published 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Oct 2015