Kōrero: Rugby union

New Zealand Native Football team, 1888–89 (1 o 2)

New Zealand Native Football team, 1888–89

Over 14 months from June 1888 until August 1889 the Native team played 107 rugby matches in England, Ireland, Wales, Australia and New Zealand. Organised by Thomas Eyton and Joe Warbrick, the team was predominantly Māori and included four of Warbrick’s brothers. It was the first team to wear the black jersey with the silver fern. The team members are: (back row) Arthur Warbrick, Alexander Webster, James Scott (manager), George Williams, William Warbrick, Alfred Warbrick; (middle row) ‘Smiler’ Ihimaira, William Wynyard, David Gage, Joe Warbrick, Fred Warbrick, Henry Wynyard; (front row) Richard Taiaroa, Thomas Ellison, Richard Maynard, Wi Karauria and Charles Goldsmith. There were also 10 other team members, not pictured here.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Auckland City Libraries - Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero, Sir George Grey Special Collections
Reference: 4-919
Photograph by James D. Richardson

Permission of Auckland City Libraries Tāmaki Pātaka Kōrero must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Ron Palenski, 'Rugby union - The game spreads, 1870–1892', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/40004/new-zealand-native-football-team-1888-89 (accessed 7 December 2023)

He kōrero nā Ron Palenski, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Sep 2016