Kōrero: Hockey

Challenge Shield, 2009

Challenge Shield, 2009

In 2009 the Challenge Shield, New Zealand's premier men's regional hockey trophy, was won by North Harbour, playing Wellington. Here keeper Julian Dapena holds the shield, which had become encrusted with smaller shields recording earlier victories. The first winner, in 1907, was Auckland, which defeated Wellington. These two teams dominated the early years of Challenge Shield competition.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Reference: 342617.jpg
Photograph by Simon Watts

This item has been provided for private study purposes (such as school projects, family and local history research) and any published reproduction (print or electronic) may infringe copyright law. It is the responsibility of the user of any material to obtain clearance from the copyright holder.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Geoff Watson, 'Hockey - Origins of New Zealand hockey', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/38915/challenge-shield-2009 (accessed 21 October 2021)

He kōrero nā Geoff Watson, i tāngia i te 5 Sep 2013, updated 1 Jan 2015