Kōrero: Tertiary education

University buildings: Clocktower, University of Otago, 1878 (1 o 7)

University buildings: Clocktower, University of Otago, 1878

The University of Otago – New Zealand’s first university – was founded in 1869 and opened for teaching in 1871. The university was housed in a building in Dunedin’s Princes Street until 1878, when the purpose-built Clocktower building was completed. The Clocktower remained Otago’s most well-known building in the 2000s and was used in university publicity material.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Hocken Library, University of Otago
Reference: SO9-379i
Photograph by Burton Brothers

Permission of the Hocken Library Uare Taoka o Hakena, University of Otago, must be obtained before any re-use of this image. Further information may be obtained from the Library through its website.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Tertiary education - Universities before 1990', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/34409/university-buildings-clocktower-university-of-otago-1878 (accessed 29 November 2023)

He kōrero nā Kerryn Pollock, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012