Story: Tertiary education

University buildings: Clocktower, University of Otago, 1878 (1st of 7)

University buildings: Clocktower, University of Otago, 1878

The University of Otago – New Zealand’s first university – was founded in 1869 and opened for teaching in 1871. The university was housed in a building in Dunedin’s Princes Street until 1878, when the purpose-built Clocktower building was completed. The Clocktower remained Otago’s most well-known building in the 2000s and was used in university publicity material.

Using this item

Hocken Library, University of Otago
Reference: SO9-379i
Photograph by Burton Brothers

Permission of the Hocken Library Uare Taoka o Hakena, University of Otago, must be obtained before any re-use of this image. Further information may be obtained from the Library through its website.

All images & media in this story

How to cite this page:

Kerryn Pollock, 'Tertiary education - Universities before 1990', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, (accessed 14 June 2024)

Story by Kerryn Pollock, published 20 Jun 2012