Kōrero: Labour Party

Labour members of Parliament, 1922

Labour members of Parliament, 1922

After its second general election, in 1922, the Labour Party held nine seats in Parliament. Their MPs were (back row, left to right) Ted Howard, Bill Parry, James Munro, Daniel Sullivan and Michael Joseph Savage; (front row, left to right) James McCombs, Harry Holland, Peter Fraser and Frederick Bartram. All these MPs, with the exception of McCombs (who died in 1933), Bartram (defeated 1928) and Holland (died 1928), were still in Parliament in 1935, when Labour formed a government for the first time.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library
Reference: 1/2-044402-F

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Peter Aimer, 'Labour Party - Origins of the Labour Party', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/34027/labour-members-of-parliament-1922 (accessed 23 April 2024)

He kōrero nā Peter Aimer, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 1 Jan 2023