Kōrero: Judicial system

High Court, Auckland

High Court, Auckland

The High Court, consisting of the chief justice and up to 55 judges, sits in various locations around New Zealand, with judges permanently located in Auckland, Wellington and Christchurch. Here, John Waugh stands outside the Auckland High Court in August 2005. He was sueing the navy over their use of a tunnel which had been constructed under his property, near the Devonport Naval Base, during the Second World War. He believed that the continued use of the tunnel was unauthorised and constituted trespass.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

New Zealand Herald
Reference: 290805NZHGPJWAUGH01.JPG
Photograph by Glenn Jeffrey

Permission of the New Zealand Herald must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Philip A. Joseph and Thomas Joseph, 'Judicial system - High, district and specialist courts', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/33944/high-court-auckland (accessed 26 September 2023)

He kōrero nā Philip A. Joseph and Thomas Joseph, i tāngia i te 20 Jun 2012, updated 11 Oct 2016