Kōrero: Market gardens and production nurseries

Six potato types

Six potato types

Over 50 varieties of potato are grown in New Zealand with around 12 main varieties. Different varieties have different shapes, textures, flavours and skin colours and lend themselves to particular cooking methods. Nadine and Draga are waxy making them ideal for boiling, salads, casseroles and soups. Rua and Desiree are general purpose and can be cooked in many ways. Ilam Hardy and Red Rascal are floury and are ideal for mashing, wedges, roasting, chips and baking.

Te whakamahi i tēnei tūemi

Alexander Turnbull Library, Dominion Post Collection (PAColl-7327)
Reference: PA12-6786-4 (top left); PA12-6785-2 (top right); PA12-6786-3 (middle left); PA12-6786-1 (middle right); PA12-6785-1 (bottom left); PA12-6785-4 (bottom right)

Permission of the Alexander Turnbull Library, National Library of New Zealand, Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa, must be obtained before any re-use of this image.

Ngā whakaahua me ngā rauemi katoa o tēnei kōrero

Te tuhi tohutoro mō tēnei whārangi:

Maggy Wassilieff, 'Market gardens and production nurseries - Major vegetable crops', Te Ara - the Encyclopedia of New Zealand, http://www.TeAra.govt.nz/mi/photograph/20006/six-potato-types (accessed 23 October 2021)

He kōrero nā Maggy Wassilieff, i tāngia i te 24 Nov 2008